Google Analytics New Pivot Table Feature Rocks!

Love the Pivot.

I flipped on my computer to give a quick glance at my clients’ analytics when I noticed a new option in the view bar:

The new pivot table icon in Google Analytics

The new pivot table icon in Google Analytics

Well, as soon as I saw that – my heart stopped.

Could it be the new pivot table feature I’ve been waiting on? Only one way to find out….

It keeps getting better.

I want to show you everything, but I also don’t want to be up all night writing this so I’m going to rip through some screenshots and then hopefully you can run along and experiment for yourself (assuming you’ve got access to this as well….)

There's a LOT of information for you to explore.

There's a LOT of information for you to explore.

Have you looked at the map location view by city and wondered ” I wish I could see which source brought the most visitors from that city…” only to realize that you’d have to create some advanced segment report to get that info?  Not anymore you don’t.

Or how about this –

2009-08-31 10-04-59 PM

Which referring source sends the most engaged visitors from your top cities? This is a job for the pivot feature!

2009-08-31 10-04-26 PM

And it works on the goal conversions tabs as well….

Maybe I’m just way more geeky than most people, but I get giddy with this stuff.

2009-08-31 10-11-02 PM2009-08-31 10-05-56 PM

So this is how it works from what I’ve messed with so far:

  • The 2 gray drop-down boxes above the table are the Metrics you can choose from (don’t shoot me if I’m wrong. my brain is a little fuzzy right now…) – both boxes contain the same selections, but it doesn’t really matter too much because…
  • The real attraction here is the pivot box (in blue – above the left column). It populates a row above the metrics you’re displaying – this brings the awesomeness.
  • yes – you can export as well, but it may take a little more tweaking on my side to figure that out properly. Selecting a pivot dropdown for keywords for example, creates a long list of columns- but it appeared that on export I only got the columns visible on the screen. Maybe it’s best to use the API for those type of queries..

…and that’s all I know so far. OH – except that it appears that you have some really cool grouping features in your advanced segments as well. Advanced segments with pivot table features – all without leaving the browser. How could you NOT think this is awesome?

5 Responses to “Google Analytics New Pivot Table Feature Rocks!”

  1. John Chen Says:

    Nice find, going to have a look now. Cheers for the Sphinn.

  2. Google Analytics New Pivot Table Feature Rocks! « Search Marketing …- SFWEBDESIGN.com Says:

    […] original here: Google Analytics New Pivot Table Feature Rocks! « Search Marketing …Share this on del.icio.usDigg this!Share this on RedditBuzz up!Stumble upon something good? Share it […]

  3. Fandi gala Says:

    Anda memang benar sekali

  4. parveenkumar Says:

    Quite interesting i will try to make more report for my usages.

  5. kindle Says:

    Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.
    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.
    Many people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!


Leave a Reply

