Non-Nerdy Uses for WolframAlpha

There’s certainly been a lot of hype about the launch of  WolframAlpha‘s “knowledge-based” search engine. 

 

get used to re-wording your searches

get used to re-wording your searches

 

 

It’s too early in the game to say whether or not Wolfram will be here for the long haul, but I have to admit that I can certainly see it being a valuable asset for the scientific and mathematical community, as it spits out complex equations and calculations as easy as spreading warm butter (but it still couldn’t tell me how fast “warp speed” is). However, since I don’t fit into that category (i.e. smart), I thought I’d give some insight into how it works for us “regular” joes.

First up: The Wheel of Fortune Test

Don’t you hate it when someone in the room beats you at guessing the words on WOF? I do. Looks like I’ll be using Wolfram quite a bit around 7pm est. daily.

 

Yes, I was thinking armhole. What were YOU thinking?

Yes, I was thinking armhole. What were YOU thinking?

Next: The Vampire Test

Sometimes you really, really need to get inside when you see that sun going down. Well, maybe not yet…but wait until there’s a global zombie outbreak or we get attacked by vampires. THEN you’ll be glad I told you about this. 

 

Will Smith would've liked this

Will Smith would've liked this

Well, it’s not perfect, but I could always set a timer on my iphone. 

Test 3: Music Searches

Wolfram has some great example searches in  several different categories to get you started off right, including this one, for music theory:

 

only music geeks talk like this

only music geeks talk like this

…that IS actually pretty cool, and I especially like how it shows the actual notation and piano keys – but I would only use that when composing some vocal harmonies, like this one. But everyone knows that REAL musicians don’t ask “Excuse me Phil, could you tell me the notation for that D dominant eleventh chord?”  – they say stuff like:

 

music speak for the cool cats

music speak for the cool cats

hey, hey, hey Wolfram. go baby go. get down wit your bad self.

In all seriousness, there is quite a lot to explore with this search engine, but with the coming release of Google Square, the future is still unknown.

Posted in SEO. 1 Comment »

One Response to “Non-Nerdy Uses for WolframAlpha”

  1. Vi Morrone Says:

    The most comprehensive and very well thought out information I have found on this subject on the internet. Keep on writing, I will keep on stopping over to read your new content. This is my fourth time stopping by your website .


Leave a Reply

