Keyword Stuffing Still Works – Details and Screenshots!

Update: rather than fight over copyright law and fair use, I removed the post…..for now.

It really sucks that some people (see below) have to resort to threatening legal action when you point out that they’re breaking search engine webmaster guidelines by not just stuffing keywords on the page but also trying to hide them – by get this – making them the same color as the background.

Here’s a quick recap of things not to do from Google:

Hiding text or links in your content can cause your site to be perceived as untrustworthy since it presents information to search engines differently than to visitors. Text (such as excessive keywords) can be hidden in several ways, including:

  • Using white text on a white background
  • Including text behind an image
  • Using CSS to hide text
  • Setting the font size to 0

Well, what happens if I do?

response from Google :

If your site is perceived to contain hidden text and links that are deceptive in intent, your site may be removed from the Google index, and will not appear in search results pages.

For Dave- you should read this:things not to do with your website.

Posted in SEO. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Keyword Stuffing Still Works – Details and Screenshots!”

  1. Dave Says:

    Thanks for the Link, maybe that will help my external links, LOL. If you are still adding a bunch of links to your website for search engines you are also using old outdated tecnology. Here is a quote from a internet marketing company.

    “If two years ago some SEO hack advised you to put 100 links at the bottom of your home page, delete them. They’re not helping you, and they may be hurting you.”

    Enjoy your little forum SEO gentlemen, I will enjoy top listings in the search engines.

  2. tampaseo Says:

    Glad I can help, Dave (although that link is no-followed).

    It looks like google’s already adjusted your rank position, as your site (one of many) is already on the second page. Enjoy your position on Yahoo and MSN while they last.

    I’m not trying to screw with your business, just pointing out shady techniques that really shouldn’t be used anymore. And yes, the search engines WILL see that you’re using CSS to hide your keywords now.

    You’re really playing with fire. Good luck explaining yourself to the search engines once you get popped.

    And obviously, you don’t understand what I mean by link-building.

    Good luck doing whatever…

  3. Dave Says:

    I would suggest you take my website off of yours. I am having my legal team investigate if this constitutes copyright infringement (among other things).

    Dave Middleton
    Operations Manager
    Action Bio-Care, Inc.

  4. Jonathan Bailey Says:

    Please forgive me for intruding in a matter that I know is really none of my business but I wanted to say to Mr. Dave Middleton that I think he is over-reacting to the situation.

    This site does make use of your copyright material but does so in a way that, in my opinion, supports a fair use argument. I can not say for certain if he would be able to make such a case work in a court since they are very subjective, but I think his odds are better than average.

    I think that it is clear from your tone that you are not upset about the copyright infringement but about the negative remarks this person had to say. Ask yourself, if this person had included these screen shots with a glowing review, would you still be threatening?

    I am not a lawyer, but I work in the copyright field and I spend all day every day helping artists protect their works, that is my job. It upsets me greatly when individuals use copyright as a club to silence criticism, as appears to be the case here. This hinders copyright holders dealing with plagiarists, sploggers and other villains of the Web and makes people distrust copyright as a system of protection.

    I encourage you to seriously consider what you are doing here. Your comments show very negatively upon yourself and your company and does nothing to actually protect your site.

    As I said, I am not a lawyer, but I am well versed in this area of law and I feel pretty comfortable that this author has a solid fair use case. In my experience, these matters are not well resolved by threats and hostilities, but by extending an olive branch and trying to work on an agreement.

    If you have any specific objections that can be corrected, I am sure that the author of this post would be willing to listen. I understand that you are upset, but this is not the way to resolve this dispute.

    If you wish, you may email me directly on my site and I will gladly speak with you. The same invite goes to the author of the post.

    Thank you very much for your time. Again, I am sorry for the intrusion.


Leave a Reply

